Martin Z. Bazant

Research Interests

transport phenomena, microfluidics, electrokinetics, electrochemical systems, applied mathematics


Ph.D., Harvard University, 1997

M.S., University of Arizona, 1993

B.S., University of Arizona, 1992



Honors and Awards

MIT Information Systems and Technology (IS&T) Infinite Mile Award, 2020

MITx Prize for Teaching and Learning in MOOCs, 2019

Fellow of the American Physical Society, 2018

Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering, 2018

Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FSRC), 2017

Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry, 2017

Named inaugural E. G. Roos (1944) Professor, 2016

Bose Award for innovative and unconventional projects, 2015

Alexander Kuznetsov Prize for Theoretical Electrochemistry, 2015

Popular Science Brilliant Ten, 2007

Joliot Chair and Paris Sciences Chair, ESPCI, 2007

Department of Energy Early Career Award, 2002

Paris Sciences Chair, ESPCI, 2002


Jesse H. Kroll

Research Interests

atmospheric chemistry, particulate matter, organic oxidation processes, and chemical kinetics


Ph.D., Harvard University, 2002

A.M., Harvard University, 1999

A.B., Harvard College, 1996


Honors and Awards

NSF Career Award, 2017

James B. Macelwane Medal, American Geophysical Union, 2013

NASA Earth System Science Fellow, 2000-2002

NSF Graduate Fellow, 1997-2000

Douglas A. Lauffenburger

Research Interests

cell, tissue, and biomolecular engineering, computational modeling of biological and physiological systems


Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1979

B.S., University of Illinois, 1975


Honors and Awards

National Academy of Engineering, 2001

American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2001

Amgen Award in Biochemical Engineering, Eng Fdn, 2000

Food Pharmaceutical & Bioengineering Division Award, AIChE, 1993

Curtis W. McGraw Research Award, ASEE, 1992

Founding Fellow, AIMBE, 1992

J.S. Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, 1989

Allan P. Colburn Award, AIChE, 1988

Career Development Award, NIH, 1984

Presidential Young Investigator Award, NSF, 1984

Arup K. Chakraborty

Research Interests

immunology, regulation of transcription, statistical mechanics


Ph.D., University of Delaware, 1988

B. of Tech., Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1983


Honors and Awards

Honorary doctorate, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, 2019

John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, 2018

Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 2017

Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2016

Graduate Student Council Outstanding Faculty Award, 2012

Raman Memorial Lectures, 2009

Department of Chemical Engineering Teaching Award, MIT, 2009

Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2008

Distinguished Alumnus Award, IIT-Kanpur, 2008

Elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2007

E.O. Lawrence Award for Life Sciences, 2007

NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, 2006

Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achvt, Univ. of Delaware, 2005

Wilber Lecture, Rice University, 2005

Doraiswamy Lecturer, Iowa State and NCL, India, 2005

Dept. of Chem. Eng. Teaching Award, UC Berkeley, 2005

Engineering Foundation Endowed Lectureship, U.T. Austin, 2005

Election to National Academy of Engineering, 2004

Professional Progress Award, AIChE, 2004

Merck Collaboratus Lectures, Rutgers University, 2004

Trotter Lecturer, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2004

Chemcon Distinguished Lecturer Award, Bhubaneswar, India, 2003

Robert W. Vaughan Memorial Lecturer, Caltech, 2000

Research Prof., Miller Inst. for Basic Science, Berkeley, 1999-00

Featured Speaker, NAE Frontiers of Engineering Meeting, 1999

Allan P. Colburn Award, AIChE, 1996

Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, 1994

AIChE, Berkeley Student Chapter, Distinguished Teaching, 1996-97

National Young Investigator Award, 1992-1997

Allan P. Colburn Memorial Lecture, University of Delaware, 1993

Royal Academy of Engineering (U.K.), ICIFellowship, 1993-1998

Shell Young Faculty Fellow, 1989-1992

Best Review Paper, Intl. Conf. on Polymer/Solid Interfaces, 1991