Arup K. Chakraborty

Robert T. Haslam (1911) Professor of Chemical Engineering, Professor of Physics, Professor of Chemistry, and Institute for Medical Engineering & Science

Support StaffMichelle Antunes

Research Interests

immunology, regulation of transcription, statistical mechanics


Ph.D., University of Delaware, 1988

B. of Tech., Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1983


Honors and Awards

Honorary doctorate, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, 2019

John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, 2018

Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 2017

Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2016

Graduate Student Council Outstanding Faculty Award, 2012

Raman Memorial Lectures, 2009

Department of Chemical Engineering Teaching Award, MIT, 2009

Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2008

Distinguished Alumnus Award, IIT-Kanpur, 2008

Elected Fellow of American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2007

E.O. Lawrence Award for Life Sciences, 2007

NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, 2006

Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achvt, Univ. of Delaware, 2005

Wilber Lecture, Rice University, 2005

Doraiswamy Lecturer, Iowa State and NCL, India, 2005

Dept. of Chem. Eng. Teaching Award, UC Berkeley, 2005

Engineering Foundation Endowed Lectureship, U.T. Austin, 2005

Election to National Academy of Engineering, 2004

Professional Progress Award, AIChE, 2004

Merck Collaboratus Lectures, Rutgers University, 2004

Trotter Lecturer, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2004

Chemcon Distinguished Lecturer Award, Bhubaneswar, India, 2003

Robert W. Vaughan Memorial Lecturer, Caltech, 2000

Research Prof., Miller Inst. for Basic Science, Berkeley, 1999-00

Featured Speaker, NAE Frontiers of Engineering Meeting, 1999

Allan P. Colburn Award, AIChE, 1996

Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, 1994

AIChE, Berkeley Student Chapter, Distinguished Teaching, 1996-97

National Young Investigator Award, 1992-1997

Allan P. Colburn Memorial Lecture, University of Delaware, 1993

Royal Academy of Engineering (U.K.), ICIFellowship, 1993-1998

Shell Young Faculty Fellow, 1989-1992

Best Review Paper, Intl. Conf. on Polymer/Solid Interfaces, 1991