Robert S. Langer

David H. Koch (1962) Institute Professor

Support StaffLaura White

Chemical engineering is one of the broadest backgrounds one can have. It can enable you to work in so many areas - nanotechnology, materials, energy, medicine, and many others. And it can enable you to discover and invent things that can change the world.

Research Interests

drug delivery, biomaterials, tissue engineering, biotechnology, immobilized enzymes, biomedical engineering


Sc.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1974

B.S., Cornell University, 1970


Honors and Awards

Kavli Prize in Nanoscience, 2024

Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, 2023

Balzan Prize, 2022

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Biology and Biomedicine, 2022

Maurice-Marie Janot Award, 2020

Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences, 2019

Number 1, Master of the Bench, Medicine Maker “Power List”, 2018

Kabiller Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomedicine, 2017

Number 1, Master of the Bench, Medicine Maker “Power List”, 2017

Honorary Doctor of Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, 2016

World's Most Influential Scientific Minds list, Thomson Reuters, 2016

Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, 2015

Cornell Entrepreneur of the Year, 2015

Kyoto Prize, 2014

The Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, 2013

Israel’s Wolf Prize in Chemistry, 2013

National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 2013

Elected to National Academy of Inventors, 2012

Wilhelm Exner Medal, 2012

Perkin Medal, 2012

Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, 2011

American Chemical Society Fellows, 2011

Millennium Technology Prize, 2008

Max Planck Research Award, 2008

Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, 2008

AIChE Founders Award, 2008

Chemistry of Materials Award (American Chemical Society), 2007

Herman F. Mark Award (ACS), 2007

United States National Medal of Science, 2006

National Inventors Hall of Fame, 2006

Dan David Prize in Materials Science, 2005

Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomed Research, 2005

General Motors Kettering Prize for Cancer Research, 2004

Heinz Award for Technology, Economy and Employment, 2003

Harvey Prize in Science and Technology and Human Health, 2003

John Fritz Award, 2003

Charles Stark Draper Prize, 2002

Dickson Prize for Science, 2002

Lemelson-MIT Prize for Invention and Innovation, 1998

Gairdner Foundation International Award, 1996

William Walker Award (AIChE), 1996

Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 1992

Elected to the National Academy of Engineering, 1992

Stine Award in Materials Science and Engineering (AIChE), 1991

Professional Progress Award (AIChE), 1990

Elected to the Inst. of Medicine of the NAS, 1989

Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Award (AIChE), 1986