Paula T. Hammond

Research Interests

macromolecular design and synthesis, targeted drug delivery for cancer, nanoscale assembly of synthetic biomaterials, electrostatic and directed materials assembly


Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1993

M.S., Georgia Institute of Technology, 1988

S.B., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1984


Honors and Awards

James R. Killian Jr. Faculty Achievement Award, 2023-24

President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), 2021

Inaugural Black in Cancer Distinguished Investigator Award, 2021

MIT Institute Professor, 2021

MRS Turnbull Lectureship Award from the Materials Research Society, 2019

AIChE’s Margaret H. Rousseau Pioneer Award, 2019

Elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 2019

ACS Nat’l Award in Applied Polymer Science, 2018

Elected to the National Academy of Engineering, 2017

Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 2016

Elected AIChE Fellow, 2016

Alpha Chi Sigma Award for Chemical Engineering Research, 2014

Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2013

Charles M.A. Stine Award, 2013

Ovarian Cancer Research Program Teal Innovator Award, 2013

Elected Fellow, ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry (POLY), 2012

Distinguished Scientist Award, the Harvard Foundation, 2010

Elected AIMBE Fellow, 2010

Bayer Distinguished Lecturer, 2004

Georgia Tech Outstanding Young Alumni Award, 2004

Radcliffe Institute Fellow, Harvard University, 2003

Henry Hill Lecturer Award, 2002

Junior Bose Faculty Award, 2000

GenCorp Signature University Award, 2000

Lloyd Ferguson Young Scientist Award, 2000

NSF Career Award, 1997

EPA Early Career Award, 1996

DuPont Young Faculty Award, 1996

3M Innovation Fund Award, 1995

NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship in Chemistry, Harvard University, 1994

Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellow, 1992

MIT Karl Taylor Compton Prize, 1992

Eastman Kodak Theophilus Sorrel Fellow, 1990

Kristala L. Jones Prather

Research Interests

metabolic engineering, biochemical engineering, bioprocess engineering, synthetic biology


Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1999

S.B., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1994


Honors and Awards

AIChE’s Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering, 2021

Gordon Y. Billard Award, 2021

Fellow of the AAAS, 2018

MLK Leadership Award, 2017

Fellow, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, 2014-15

MacVicar Faculty Fellow, 2014

Biochemical Engineering Journal Young Investigator Award, 2011

MIT School of Engineering Junior Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2010

National Science Foundation CAREER Award, 2010

Technology Review “TR35” Young Innovator, 2007

Outstanding Faculty Award for Undergraduate Teaching, 2006

Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 2005

Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award, 2004

Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship, 1998

UNCF-Merck Science Initiative Graduate Fellowship, 1996

NOBCChE/DuPont Graduate Fellowship Award, 1996

NDSEG Fellowship, 1994

Robert T. Haslam Cup ChemE Dept, MIT, 1994

Karl Taylor Compton Prize, MIT, 1994

NSBE Distinguished Fellow, 1994